RSS Feed

Enchiladas

Posted on

IMG_8915

IMG_8921

IMG_8924 (2)
I found this recipe from the Pioneer Woman @  http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/09/simple-perfect-enchiladas/.

     This was my first time I made a any of her recipes so I had my fingers crossed that they would turn out. Her step by set photos were great! The only thing I did diffently was I did not chop the olives and for a few I only used the meat mix with cheese for the kids. They were surprisingly easy for as many steps as it took but sure beat other simple enchiladas I have tried. Although it was can sauce they tasted surprisingly fresh with all the add ins. We all enjoyed them and will make them again.

(but I may try chicken next time just for fun)

Ingredients

FOR THE SAUCE:
1 T Canola Oil
1 T All-purpose Flour
1 28 ounce can Enchilada Sauce
2 cups Chicken Broth
1/2 t Salt
1/2 t Black Pepper
2 T Chopped Cilantro
_____
FOR MEAT MIXTURE:
1-1/2 lbs Ground Beef
1 whole Medium Onion, Finely Diced
2 4 ounce cans of Diced Green Chilies
1/2 t Salt
_____
FOR TORTILLAS:
10-14 whole Corn Tortillas
1/2 cup Canola Oil
_____
ASSEMBLEY:
3 cups Grated Cheddar Cheese
1/2 cup Black Olives
1 cup Chopped Green Onions
1/2 cup Chopped Cilantro

Preparation Instructions

Step #1 – The Sauce
In a large saucepan over medium heat, add oil and flour and whisk together to make a paste, cooking for one minute. Pour in the red sauce, chicken broth, cilantro, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 30-45 minutes.

Step #2 – The Meat
Brown the meat with onions in a skillet. Drain off fat. Stir in 2 cans diced green chilies and seasoned salt. Set aside.

Step #3 – Tortillas
Heat canola oil in a small skillet over medium heat. One by one, using tongs, fry tortillas in oil until soft, not crisp – about 30 seconds per side. Remove to a paper—towel lined plate. Repeat until all tortillas have been fried.

Step #4 – Assembly
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Pour ½ cup red sauce in bottom of baking pan. Spread to even out. Dip each tortilla into red sauce, then remove to work surface. Spoon meat, a little grated cheese, a little black olives, and green onions in the center of tortilla. Roll up and place, seam down, in baking pan. Repeat until pan is filled. Pour extra red sauce over enchiladas. Top with remaining cheddar cheese.

Bake for 20 minutes or until bubbly. Sprinkle cilantro over enchiladas before serving.

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

Leave a Reply

