RSS Feed

DIY Roller Shades

When looking for shades for my kitchen I was shocked at how little there was in the stores.  I was even more shocked when I got online and looked at the designer shades.  So when I saw you could make your own shade I knew this one was for me.  I looked at many many pins on pinterest about it and they left out one very important detail (make sure you have the right hardware and put fabric on the correct side) Yes I know it sounds self-explanatory but the ones I saw online that I liked all had the roll in back hidden by the shade.  The others looked unfinished.  

If done “right” the roller shade does still work as long as you use a thinner fabric.  Mine worked until we made the change at the end that made them hang correctly.  I will explain at the end the change we made.  Ours now has to be rolled up by  hand, it’s not hard at all to do.  Ours was ment for decorative purposes only so it does not even matter.

  • First you need the cheep roller shade from the box store cut down to the right size.  (mine was the $16 but one inch smaller and it would have been $7)
  • Fabric of your choice (I used regular fabric from the quilting section 4.89 a yard)
  • Hot glue gun
  • something to cut with
  • measuring tool

So for this shade it cost less than $24 and the smaller one I made for the door was only  $11.89.

 Lay out fabric and trim off all but an inch or so on all sides to fold over.  This whole thing works so much better on a hard surface!

Run hot glue along the shade and fold fabric.  I later covered the back seam with a brown ribbon because you could see the bottom edge through the window.

This is how I folded the corners for a crisp clean look

This is where you would just roll it up and be done.

**I then did not have the right hardware to hang it with a reverse roll so we looked at 3 local box stores and they only had the regular so the decision was made to unroll it back out and pull it off the roller and flip the bar roller around and glue it back on.  problem solved.  However I guess they have the hardware online.  Do a little looking before you get started.***

Also I would have let mine hang a day or two before adding fabric so the shade had time to relax and the wrinkles would have been gone.  I have one hanging upstairs right now just waiting.

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

5 responses »

  1. Hi! Love your roller shade! Could you tell me where you got that small drum shade for your light fixture!! Thanks 🙂

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on An Occasional Knitter and commented:
    Will be trying this…fingers crossed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

