RSS Feed

Candy Corn Fall Decorations

While the crisp fall air and autumnal colors are still a few weeks away all I can think about is fall.  I find myself searching  pumpkin and apple recipes, Halloween costume ideas, and fall decorating ideas most nights.

I love fall foods and candies but candy corn is probably my least favorite.  As soon as I saw the  candy corn cones I instantly fell in love with them and  several other  projects that use them or was inspired by them.  One of my favorite projects so far is from Thrify decor chick @  http://thriftydecorchick.blogspot.com/2011/09/candy-corn-love.html.  Although I have only made one of the 3 projects today I might be making the others very soon.  You should check hers out they do look a little different.

The original was made with a foam cone.  I know it would have been easier and stronger but I didn’t have any and I did have sheet after sheet of poster board so thought I would give it a shot.  I figured that if it didn’t work I could just take the yarn off and try again.  Well I was lucky it worked great!

You need:

  • Some type of cone-shaped form
  • yellow, orange, and white yarn.

I used Poster board so stapes scissors and tape were also needed.

  1. 1 1/2 sheets of PB (I made 3 cones)
  2. I rolled them into a cone.  Just eyeballed it.
  3. placed a staple or two in the bottom.
  4. Trimmed the bottom until it sat flush with table
  5. added a few more stables and taped the seam.
  6. I also added some hot glue around the first row to make them stay in place.

Tape the end of the first color of yarn  on the bottom and start wrapping.  This is where the foam would have been a bit easier.  The PB was slippery so I had to tape the yarn in a few spots the first time around so that it would not slide. So with cone 2 and 3 I added hot glue spots here and there so i didn’t have the same problem.

Tie off at the end of yellow and start orange the same way.  Then white.  The top is the hard part.  I suggest placing a felt circle or taping or hot gluing a few crossing yarn layers on the top before starting with the white.

     So when I had them done there was something just not right about them.  They were fine but were cones so I gave them a squeeze.  That is all they needed! That and because I used the hot glue I was fine and the yarn didn’t move.  But if I were to do it again I would pinch it together before wrapping them.  Now the shape is much more like candy corn and I am very happy with them.

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

12 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on My Life As I Pin It and commented:

    So this was my little fall project last year. I am planning on spending sometime on pinterest tomorrow to look for something exciting to make for fall. Now that the kids are back to school I feel like getting crafty again.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Scribble Blog-Inspiring Creativity » Cute Candy Corn

  3. Pingback: Candy Corn Fall Decorations | Home Craftster

  4. Pingback: Happy Harvest | Pretty Little Things

  5. Pingback: A Candy Corn Halloween! - B. Lovely Events

  6. I love your great idea! I’ve included it on my blog “links I love” post for today!

    Sara
    8 Fall Decor Ideas to Try This Season

    Reply
  7. SO CUTE!! Just wanted to let you know that I included your post in a candy corn roundup on my blog 😀 Thanks for sharing!! http://theroadtocrazy.blogspot.com/2014/10/31-days-of-halloween-2014-day-9-candy.html

    Reply
  8. Pingback: 30 Magical DIY Fall Decorations For Your Household

  9. Pingback: Fall crafting round-up | Amber Downs

  10. Pingback: Candy Corn Decorations | Creating Me

Leave a Reply

