RSS Feed

Halloween Advent Calendar

Posted on

       When I see item in stores I always say I could make that.  How much of this is true I just don’t know.  I have no real talent when it comes to sewing at all.   I have a sewing machine but have to read the directions on how to load the tread every time, and the 100’s of stitches are wasted on me as I have no idea what to do with them.  Don’t get me wong I have made things and they have turned out (although I have no idea how).

       So When Potterybarn Kids had a advent type calendar to count down the days until Halloween  again my inner seamstress came out and I ripped out the page thinking some day I will make this and it will be wonderful.  Well 2 years passed and I had not even thought of it again.  SO when cleaning out my craft room I found the photo  and thought why not try.

        I used felt by the yard and Halloween dot ribbon.  I drew out a sketch on poster board and cut it out to use as a pattern.  I then used the embroidery part of the sewing machine  and just did numbers in some different fonts.  cut it all out and sewed it together.  OK when done I have to say I amazed had myself.  I gave this one to my sister and I have to say I think she was a little shocked as well.  I am thinking of making another soon it was much easier than I had ever thought.  I love felt it can be so cute, its super easy to work with, and its cheep.

This is the Potterybarn Advent.  I found the photo on ebay where they are asking $69.99

This is mine.

  I left out the rat i just could not get him to look right.

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

3 responses »

  1. I think yours is cuter than original!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

