RSS Feed

Homemade Laundry Detergent

Posted on

So when I first starred hearing about this well over 2 years ago I was thinking people had lost there minds!!  I was a Tide girl and there is no way I was going to try it.  I mean it would destroy and discolor my clothing and leave me itchy right???  WRONG

My mom started making liquid detergent and her clothing always looked great.  Then she washed a few of the kids items and they smelled great and looked wonderful.  So she talked me into trying it.  My husband made fun thought it was crazy until we tried it and we both had to eat our words.  It worked great our clothing was clean and we even liked the fresh smell.  Now you had to shake it and it was hard to handle but my mom and dad made it and gave it to us so the logistics of it were not a problem for us.  Then came the Powder (WE LOVE THE POWDER)  I never have used powder detergent before and was sure I would not like it.  But it is so easy to make and use.  You can keep it in cute containers and it only takes 2 tablespoons.  That’s correct only 2 tablespoons!!  I will have to tell you our whites have never been this white and our close always come clean.

I keep an opened bar of the Fels-Naptha on my shelf and use it as a pre treating bar and works great!

Some people use Oxy clean in theirs but it’s not needed at all my socks and tops are always crisp white.  Even our white baseball paints always came clean.

You need is

  • 3 bars of Fels Naptha,
  • 1 box 4 pounds of 20 Mule Team Borax
  • 1 box 55 ounce of Arm & Hammer SUPER WASHING SODA (not baking soda)
    Grate the bars of Napha and mix everything together and your done!
    2 tablespoons in each load
    So after you make it everyone you know is going to want to try it!  This small Mason jar has 13 loads in it.  It’s a great way to get your friends to try it, or even put it in care packages.
About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

2 responses »

  1. Catherine Steck

    Can you use the soap in a front load wager, we use the HE soap?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

