RSS Feed

Brown Butter Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

Posted on

Guess what I love.  Yip you guessed it bacon and chocolate!!!  My sister showed me a pin on pinterest that included both so I had to try them.  Well today was the day the kids were back to school so I thought I would make cookies for when they got home.  I am such a great mom:)

The pin took me to http://mouthfromthesouth.com/brown-butter-bacon-chocolate-chip-cookies/

I have to say I am not sure how I feel about these cookies.  They were absolutely awful when warm but then I tried them cool and they were actually good.  My kids liked them as did my parents and sister.  I made 1/2 with bacon and 1/2 without.  I did like the regular better and think next time I make my favorite chocolate chip cookies I am using all three kinds of chocolate.  YUMMY!   I didn’t have to worry about this because they were gone but do you have to refrigerate them?  I would think so.  Right??

YOU NEED:

1 3/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

14 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/2 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar

1 teaspoon table salt

2 teaspoon vanilla

1 large egg 1 large egg yolk

 4 oz  semi sweet chocolate bar, diced into 1/4″ pieces

 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao just like the pin)

3 tablespoons milk chocolate (I chopped fine.  I only found my grater only after I was done)

1 cup bacon that’s been fried until crispy and diced

  • Put your oven rack in the middle and heat your oven to 375 degrees.
  • Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • Whisk flour with  baking soda and   Set this aside.
  • fry the bacon
  • Heat 10 tablespoons of butter in a 10-inch skillet over medium heat until melted.  Continue cooking until it turns a dark, golden brown.  Watch this carefully.  As soon as it’s done, take off the heat and pour immediately into a heatproof bowl.  Stir in remaining 4 tablespoons of butter so that they melt.  (make sure your bowl is large as my butter bubbled up as i dropped in the 4 tablespoons)
  • Put the butter in a large mixing bowl and add sugar,  packed dark brown sugar,salt and vanilla.
  • Add egg and egg yolk and mix until mixture is fully mixed.
  •  Stir in grated chocolate, chocolate chunks (the original called for just putting the bacon in as well but I placed them on when on the cookie sheet as I wanted to make 1/2 with no bacon)

  • Bake for 10-14 or until cookies are golden-brown and set along the edges but the middle is still soft.
  • Remove from oven and set baking sheet on a wire rack and let cool

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

Leave a Reply

