RSS Feed

Brown Sugar and Balsamic Glazed Pork Loin

Posted on

This roast looked very good and I love balsamic so I thought I would give this pin from http://www.letsdishrecipes.com/2010/02/brown-sugar-and-balsamic-glazed-pork.html a try.  The pin I first found took me to http://www.candcmarriagefactory.com/2011/01/brown-sugar-and-balsamic-glazed-pork.html.  This was the image of the roast that made it a must try for me.
I followed the pin except I used a 1lb roast as all I could find was 1 or 4lb ones this week.  I expected it to have more of a deep balsamic flavor than it did.  The brown sugar made it very sweet.  I tasted the glaze before I put it on the roast and it reminded me of liquid cough meds.  It was so sweet, thick and sticky.  I became worried that it would be gross.  When it was done it was so juicy and it just fell apart I had a little hope because that part was great.  I was afraid to use any of the extra glaze on top like it said but I did a little.  I had already decided this was a fail and nothing was going to change my mine.  That was until I fed my family.  You have to understand my boys are picky VERY PICKY!  That and my husband does not sugar coat it when he does not like something and certainly does not eat something just to be nice.  When I sat down I ate my sides as everyone at the table ate the roast.  Their plates were clean and everyone asked for more.  So I took a few bites.  It was good nothing like I thought it would be but was a lightly sweet and very moist roast.  I don’t know if I would have thought it was as good as them had I not tasted the glaze first.  I think it was good even better than average.  So I asked everyone else in my family and they all said it was great.  So there you have it!  It was either not my favorite flavor mix or I was being picky because I thought it was not going to be good.  I don’t think it was a fail just not what I expected.   So this recipe has thumbs up from 4 in my house and 1 neutral.
Need:
1 (2 pound) boneless pork tenderloin
1 teaspoon ground sage
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/2 cup water
.
Glaze
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons soy sauce
.
Directions:
Combine sage, salt, pepper and garlic. Rub over roast. Place in slow cooker with 1/2 cup water. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. About 1 hour before roast is done, combine ingredients for glaze in small sauce pan. Heat and stir until mixture thickens. Brush roast with glaze 2 or 3 times during the last hour of cooking. Serve with remaining glaze on the side
About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

Leave a Reply

