RSS Feed

Tater Tot Casserole

Posted on
Tater Tot Casserole
This has been a long time favorite of my husbands from way back.  He used to make it in college for himself and his roommates.   Well not long after we were married I made same two things almost every night that we didn’t go out.  Soon I decided to branch out and try a few new recipes this being one.  (One should note this is the only one that turned.  Even though I made it wrong.)  The original recipe he gave me said onion soup so I went to the store and got French onion.  Turns out it was cream of onion and had no broccoli.  To our superise we all enjoyed this one more and never went back.  Well that was 12 years ago and we still make it once a month or more its one of my 8 year olds favorites.

At some point over the years the broccoli went from a side dish to getting tossed right in. We also stopped putting cheese on the top my 8 year old hates the stuff.  Sometimes when we have leftovers a splash of Tabasco gives it just the kick it needs to feel like a whole new meal.
Its so super easy and only need a few things
You need:
1/2 lb ground beef or turkey
1 can French onion soup
1 small bag frozen broccoli
1/2 –1 bag tater tots
Shredded cheese (optional)
Tabasco to taste  (optional)
Meat soup and broccoli

*In a large skillet brown your ground beef.

* When your meat is just a bit pink yet drain off grease.

* Place back in skillet and add can of soup.

*Once it soup is hot add whole bag of broccoli and stir just until the broccoli is well coated in the soup.

*Transfer to a 13×9 baking dish.

*Place frozen tater tots on the top of casserole

*back according to tater tot directions.

*I do 25 minutes @ 400 degrees.

Meat, soup, broccoli and frozen tater tots

That is it!

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

Leave a Reply

