RSS Feed

Super Mario Birthday party

Super Mario is a love of my two boys!  My youngest had no trouble at all deciding that Mario had to be the theme of his 4th birthday.

Mustaches and hats were a must at this party!

Our cake table consisted of some fun themed snacks.  I also made Mario, Luigi, one up, and big power mushroom posters out of 11×14 poster boards, paint pens and sharpies.

Mario was holding our DS invitations.

I made the cake and the fondant.  I do have to say this is only my second time making a fondant cake so I was very happy with the results.  But not near as happy as my son who thought he had the best birthday cake in the world.

Next were the chocolate melt mustaches.  They were a hit!

Flying power cake pops.

We had fire power cheese balls and ice power marshmallows how could you have a Mario party without all the super powers!

Golden chocolate covered Oreos were the perfect gold coins.

The Wii motes were my personal favorite.  They were white chocolate pretzels yummy!

The games included Goomba stamp where we made Goombas out of brown balloons and sharpie with paper feet.  We then spread them out on our loan (on a crazy warm November day in Indiana) and the kids stomped them like in the game.

Then it was pin the mustache on Mario time.

Next we had Yoshi egg races.

Our last game was a gold coin race/hunt.   The kids had a blast with this one we had to do it over and over again:)

The goodie boxes were filled with Mario themed candy stickers  and notebooks.

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Mario cake « My Life As I Pin It

  2. do you have a tutorial link to the piranha plant? thanks!

    Reply
    • I sure wish I would have taken photos but the truth is I had no idea what I was doing and bought things as I went along that I thought would work. First I covered a medium sized bowl with paper mache and waited for it to dry. Then I separated it form the bowl and cut it to the shape until I thought looked about right. The tube is a gift box I got at hobby lobby painted green along with a wood rod. I painted the head of the plant and used felt to line the mouth and make the dots. All freehand. I hope knowing a few of the materials help. It turned out great and is now in the basement in the video game area they didn’t want to trough it out. I was going to make them out of foam balls from the craft store until I saw they were 16.99-18.99 each.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

