RSS Feed

Etching Glass Pie Plate

Posted on

My new go to gift!
I have now made them for teacher gifts and gifts to family and friends.  You can do them as simple or as elaborate as you want.  I have no idea why I thought this pie plate would be a good place to start but I went for it.  The other dish was much easier and would be a great first time project.
I had found a casserole dish on pinterest that I thought was cool but it looked way to hard.  After looking at many sites and after my sister decided she wanted to give them to her staff at work I went to work.

What you need depends on how you make it.  You can buy already cut letters and shapes in vinyl if you do not have a Cricut or other cutter.  I also used the Gypsy tool for the Cricut.
Everyone needs:
*glass pie,casserole, candy dish…
*Etching cream
*vinyl
*Contact paper (if you have a large or design with spacing)
*Natural paint brush (no foam brushes)
*something to burnish vinyl

*I started by finding the diameter of the inside bottom of the pie plate
*I then made a circle in just a bit smaller diameter.
*Time to have fun and put words and shapes. (I saved mine and just change names)

Cut Vinyl

Place contact paper over top of design.

Peel off backing of the vinyl but be careful to leave the words and or shapes you want to show clear and not frosted.

Remove all of the insides of letters and background

You can’t see but I pulled off the circle and placed it on the pie plate for a border first its much easier.

Place in the INSIDE of the pie plate

rub the contact paper to get the vinyl to adhere to the glass

Now slowly pull back contact paper.

You can put anything back on at this point if they come off with paper. (My dots always do)

Flip over and look at bottom if you see air bubbles just rub them out.  Make sure all edges are pressed down tight if not the cream will bleed.

apply cream according to directions.  I left mine on for 5 extra min but sure it does not matter.Flip over and see if you missed any spots.  1/2 way through i moved the stuff around with the bush just to make sure I got it all.

wash with soap and water

All done and it can be used right away and no spacial care involved.  just make sure you grease them when you use them.

About danielle

Hi! I am Danielle Interior designer turned stay at home mother of 3 wonderful kids. I love to do crafts, projects, parties, and photography. With this being said I am a not a pro by any means and have had many many failed attempts. Some funny and some just plain ugly:) I do not care for cooking and house work. My goal is to find a better, faster, more organized way to just get it done so I can spend time with the ones. This is where Pinterest has come into my life. Pinterest and I have a love/hate relationship. I have spent the better part of a day looking up great ideas and never putting them to use. What a waste of time... or is it? Sometimes I find something that rocks and I try it and the world is a better place:) But the worst is when I try something and it’s a big bust. A how did that ever pass for working, did they even read the steps they were giving, or do you think they get a laugh out of my attempt. Many friends have told me that I need to post the bad ones so they don’t bother and let them know the good pins so they can give them a try. So here goes!

2 responses »

  1. Is that a software package or the cricket showing the screen with your design? This is so creative…I Love it! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Its the Gypsy handheld software for the cricket. (looks like a video game you plug into your cricket.) You can make anything with it by using basic shapes, text, and images from cartages you already have. I hear the computer software works the same way. I have made Lego men, video game cards, and so many casserole and pie plates. I love it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

